Il senatore Charles Palantine


Betsy: And why do you feel that you have to volunteer to me?
Travis: [smiling slightly] Because I think that you are the most beautiful woman I’ve ever seen.
Betsy: [pause] Thanks. But what do you think of Palantine? …Charles Palantine, the man you’re volunteering to help elect President.
Travis: Well, I’m sure he’d make a good President. I don’t know exactly what his policies are, but I’m sure he’d make a good one.
Betsy: Do you want to canvass?
Travis: Yeah, I’ll canvass.
[…]
Travis: I’ll tell you why. I think you’re a lonely person. I drive by this place a lot and I see you here. I see a lot of people around you. And I see all these phones and all this stuff on your desk. It means nothing. Then when I came inside and I met you, I saw in your eyes and I saw the way you carried yourself that you’re not a happy person. And I think you need something. And if you want to call it a friend, you can call it a friend.
Betsy: Are you gonna be my friend?
Travis: Yeah. What do ya say? It’s a little hard standing here and asking…Five minutes, that’s all, just outside. Right around here. I’m there to protect ya. [He quickly flexes both arms, causing her to laugh] Come on, just take a little break.
Betsy: I have a break at four o’clock and if you’re here…
Travis: Four o’clock today?
Betsy: Yes.
Travis: I’ll be here.
Betsy: I’m sure you will.
Travis: All right, four p.m.
Betsy: Right.
Travis: Outside in front?
Betsy: Yeah.
Travis: OK. Oh my name is Travis. [He extends his hand to her] Betsy?
Betsy: Travis.
Travis: Appreciate this, Betsy.

Lascia un commento

